You are here

February 2016

State Chess Tournament Results

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Mon, 02/29/2016 - 13:44

Junior High State Chess Tournament Results

            Feb. 26th and 27th our Mt. Nebo Junior High Chess Team went to Sandy and competed in this year’s annual state chess tournament.  The competition was extreme and the rounds long, but our team held their own and walked away with an overall team ranking of 6th place at state.  Individually our team was led by Sam Hannig who placed 8th overall among 9th grade players and Caleb Hayes who placed 7th overall among the 9th grade players.  Taydon Carlson, Michael Talley, Isaac Poulson, and Nathaniel Jeffery rounded out our team with each of these players receiving medals of participation.  We want to congratulate all six of these young men on a job well done and for representing Mt. Nebo so well at State this year.


National Junior Honor Society

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Fri, 02/26/2016 - 15:38

On Feb. 18th MNJHS hosted the induction of the National Junior Honor Society for new members. Students represented the five pillars of the NJHS and spoke on each quality:  Character, Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Citizenship. All new and current members repeated the oath of membership and received their NJHS pins.

District Science Fair Winners

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Fri, 02/26/2016 - 07:32

The Nebo School District had its annual District Science Fair Wednesday, Feb. 24th, and we had 20 of our students participate.  Of those 20 students, we had 15 of them qualify to move on to the Central Utah Science and Engineering Fair, which is our regional science fair held at BYU in March.  

These students are:  Hayden Heaton, Dallas Jensen, Kaydon Dymock, Rebeca Knapp, Merrell Moreley, Michael Sandage, Tanner Peterson, Dexton Draper, Teagan Leifson, Ashley Graham, Sayley Torzillo, Breiann Carter, Hayley Bassir, Chloee Bird, and Trevan Stevenson.  Congratulations to all those that participated!  We are so proud of your hard work and ingenuity!  

A project from our school won 1st place in the 9th Grade division.  The project was "Self Charging Electric Car" by Kaydon Dymock.  

The Grand Prize winner of the District Science Fair was also from our school.  The project was "Pollution Solution" by Hayden Heaton and Dallas Jensen.Congratulations to all of these students and their Science team that helped them: Kirk Wright, Darwin Deming, Sierra Hotchkiss, and Adam Rees


Panther Praise Winners Feb. 22nd to 26th

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Fri, 02/26/2016 - 07:16

Congratulations to our Panther Praise winners for the week of Feb. 22nd to 26th

7th grade:  Austin Solorzano (Mrs. Dinkel), Dalton Poulsen (Mr. Sumens), Hagen Taylor (Mrs. Larsen)

8th grade: Breana Smith (Mr. White), Chloee Bird (Mrs. Stoneman), Johana Brizuela (Mrs. Stoneman)

9th grade: Hunter Mason (Mrs. Miller), Natasha Hiatt (Ms. Daniels), Michael Sandage (Mr. Marziale)



Five for Five Winners Feb. 15th to 19th

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Mon, 02/22/2016 - 07:16

Congratulations to our Five for Five winners for the week of February 15th to 19th:

Konner Runyan (7th)  won $10.00Martina Sanchez (8th) won $5.00Ninth Grade did not qualify and the lucky participant next week will be eligible for $25.00.


Panther Praise Winners Feb. 15th to 19th

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Mon, 02/22/2016 - 06:59

Congratulations to our panther praise winners for the week of February 15th to 19th.

7th Grade:  Mathew Hunt (Mrs. N. Davis), Megan Leiva (Mr. Christensen), Hannah Brokaw (Mrs. Olsen)

8th Grade:  Savanna Morgan (Mrs. Hanks), Tapu Anesi (Mrs. Stoneman), Yadira Vasquez (Mrs. Stoneman)

9th Grade: Sayley Torzillo (Mrs. Reber), Wyatt Southerland (Mrs. Miller), McCoy Cook (Mr. Marziale)


District Chess Winners

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Tue, 02/16/2016 - 09:29

This weekend our chess team competed at the district’s annual chess tournament in Springville. We are excited to announce that our team took third place overall. Caleb Hayes led the team by taking a ninth place trophy in individual play and Emma Cloud was awarded a trophy for outstanding play as well. Other team members included Tayden Carlson, Sam Hannig, Beni Baugh, and Izaak Walton. Over 40 players from the different junior highs competed this year making this the biggest turn out for our district tournament so far. Well done players!


Panther Praise Winners Feb. 8th to 12th

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Fri, 02/12/2016 - 07:57

Our panther praise winners for the week of Feb. 8th to 12th are:

 7th grade: Jobana Magana (Mrs. Reber), Kason Stinson (Mr. Marziale), Aiden Carlson (Mrs. Hatch)

8th grade: Mikaeli Ringle (Mr. White), Jacob Montgomery (Mrs. Hanks), Rachel Durfee (Mrs. Stoneman)

9th grade: Kaylee Torres (Mrs. Wright), Ryan Hair (Mrs. Olsen), Makayla Johnson (Mrs. Eliason)


February students of the month

Submitted by kaye.isakson on Fri, 02/12/2016 - 07:40


Congratulations to our Students of the Month for February:7th grade: Ivy Bronson, Joslyn Seamons,8th grade: Jessa Asay, Briana Bartholomew, Johana Brizuela9th grade: Javier Cisneros, Anika McMillan



Subscribe to School News